top of page
Search

Blue and I

Catherine is an ocean lover, sea swimmer and Surfers Against Sewage Rep for Northern Ireland. Catherine raises awareness of plastic pollution in and around our coastlines and is trying introduce as many plastic free and low waste alternatives into her lifestyle as possible!


Thank you to Live Here Love Here for inviting me to be a part of their new campaign Healthy Oceans Healthy Minds! My journey started with a passion for the planet and the natural world as I became aware of the effects plastic pollution is having on our planet.


I began writing a blog on sustainability just over a year ago. It started when I stopped purchasing any new clothes or makeup for a year. I wanted to do this because I found that the beauty and fashion industries are two of the biggest contributors to global carbon emissions - more than aviation and shipping combined.


Through my blog, I aim to inform and raise awareness of the changes needed for a more

sustainable future. Keeping a positive approach, I try to focus on things people can do to make a difference and cover topics such as sustainable ways of living, plastic free swaps in the home, a reuseable lifestyle and reducing unnecessary waste and plastic where possible. I also want to highlight the importance of buying from independent and local businesses which benefit our local economy and community.


I’ve always loved the water from a very young age. I'm a sea swimmer and member of my beach cleaning community and like to join in on group clean ups when I can. Recently I became a rep for Surfers Against Sewage for Northern Ireland. We held a beach clean in Portrush which combined yoga and surf and was a great success! I hope to help organise more events in future and meet more like-minded people who are also passionate about ocean conservation.


On Earth Day on 22 April 2020 I shared a video of a recent beach clean and and am currently highlighting an #IsolatedCleanUp initiative, during lockdown. The aim is to encourage people to pick up one or two pieces of litter whilst taking their daily exercise and to bring it home to recycle or dispose of properly.



My message is based around a more sustainable, thoughtful way of living which in the end, could ensure a cleaner, healthier future for all life on earth.





Catherine's Kitchen Swaps




Catherine's Bathroom Swaps




If you want to find out more about Catherine’s mission please follow @blueand_i on Instagram

85 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page